Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Xinyu Hu | Echoes of Memories | Graduating Student Recital

Tuesday, April 30, 2024   |   3:00 pm 4:00 pm

Free – $20.00
Longy’s performance are free and open to the public, but please register in advance.

All Longy students present full recitals as part of their education and ongoing evolution as artists. They are charged with thinking critically about what stories they tell, whose voices to amplify, and who’s in the room for their event while also considering how to use performance spaces in innovative ways and how to truly engage audiences and create interactive music experiences.

Xinyu Hu is a student of Brain Moll.

read more

Xinyu Hu, piano
Stephen Kim, violin

1. Sicilienne (ca. 1810)
Maria-Theresia von Paradis (1759-1824)
“Sicilienne” is a piece often attributed to Maria-Theresia von Paradis, an Austrian composer and pianist. Despite being blind from an early age, von Paradis achieved remarkable success as a performer and composer. The piece has an airy, dance-like quality, characteristic of the Sicilienne style, with a gentle rhythm that evokes pastoral imagery. This composition’s calming nature provides a tranquil beginning to the concert.

2. Piano Sonata No. 26 in E♭ major, Op. 81a, “Les Adieux” (1809-1810)
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Beethoven composed the Piano Sonata No. 26, also known as “Les Adieux,” during the Napoleonic Wars, when Vienna was under threat. This sonata is unique in Beethoven’s repertoire, as it explicitly indicates a programmatic theme. The first movement, “Das Lebewohl,” represents a poignant farewell as Archduke Rudolph, Beethoven’s patron and student, fled Vienna. The second movement, “Abwesenheit,” captures the sense of absence and longing, while the final movement, “Das Wiedersehen,” is a joyous celebration of reunion, reflecting the Archduke’s return. The sonata encapsulates a range of emotions, from sorrow to hope, in its progression.

3. Nocturne in F minor, Op. 55, No. 1 (1842-1844)
Frédéric François Chopin (1810-1849)
Chopin’s Nocturne in F minor is a romantic masterpiece. The piece was composed during the latter part of Chopin’s career, a time marked by personal struggles and failing health. The nocturne’s haunting melody and complex accompaniment reflect the emotional depth characteristic of Chopin’s music. This piece is contemplative, with moments of intense emotion, illustrating the expressive power of the nocturne form.

4. Rhapsody in G minor, Op. 79, No. 2 (1879)
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
The final piece in the program is Brahms’ Rhapsody in G minor, Op. 79, No. 2. This rhapsody is part of a set of two composed by Brahms, demonstrating his inclination towards the Romantic tradition while maintaining his distinct style. The piece is characterized by dramatic contrasts, bold rhythms, and powerful climaxes, showcasing Brahms’ mastery in creating rich, emotional landscapes. The rhapsody’s vibrant energy and rhythmic drive make it a fitting conclusion to the concert, leaving the audience with a sense of exhilaration.


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available


Tuesday, April 30, 2024
3:00 pm 4:00 pm
Free – $20.00
Event Category:


Wolfinsohn Recital Room
Zabriskie House 27 Garden Street
Cambridge, MA 02138 United States
Thanks to our partnership with the Massachusetts Cultural Council and their “Card to Culture” program, Longy School of Music of Bard College can offer free tickets to many of our diverse and innovative performance offerings. See the full list of participating “Card to Culture” organizations offering EBT, WIC, and ConnectorCare discounts.