Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

New Gallery Concert Series: 2, 4, 6, 8 = Twenty: A Night of the Elements | Sarah Bob, artistic director

Thursday • November 7, 2019   |   7:30 pm

New Gallery Concert Series (NGCS) begins its 20th anniversary season featuring artwork by the metalsmith Rhea Vedro, a commissioned world premiere of David Rakowsk’s Eighters Gonna Eight for two pianos and eight hands, and an incredible line up of pianists, including Marilyn Nonken, Geoffrey Burleson, Donald Berman, and Sarah Bob. NGCS provides collaborative platforms to living composers and visual artists that are eclectic, thoughtprovoking, and great fun.

“The next generation of new music may have found a niche.” —Boston Globe

Saddlebird • Rhea Vedro• 2013 • steel, metal leaf, enamel paint, wood • 33″ x 61″ x 70″


Crackling Fire for piano four hands (1990) by David Rakowski (1958)
Marilyn Nonken & Geoffrey Burleson 

Earth Into Air for piano four hands (2019) by Stefanie Lubkowski (1974)
New Gallery Concert Series Commission WORLD PREMIERE
Sarah Bob & Donald Berman
Cadenza from Ananke by John Aylward
Sarah Bob

Simplicity, goodness, & truth. for piano four hands (2019) by deVon Russell Gray (1980)
New Gallery Concert Series Commission WORLD PREMIERE
Geoffrey Burleson & Sarah Bob 

Fantasy on a Theme by Steve Reich for piano six hands (1999) by Steve Reich  (1936) & Dionysis Boukouvalas (1979)
Sarah Bob, Geoffrey Burleson, Donald Berman 

Solid Goldie, Etude #90 for piano solo (2009)
Sizzle, Prelude #21, Book III for piano solo (2013) by David Rakowski
Marilyn Nonken 

Eighters Gonna Eight (2018) for two pianos & eight hands by David Rakowski
New Gallery Concert Series Commission WORLD PREMIERE
Tutti: Sarah Bob, Donald Berman, Marilyn Nonken, Geoffrey Burleson

Tickets are $20 at the door.



Thursday • November 7, 2019
7:30 pm
Event Categories:


Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall
Longy School of Music, 27 Garden Street
Cambridge, MA 02138 United States
+ Google Map
Thanks to our partnership with the Massachusetts Cultural Council and their “Card to Culture” program, Longy School of Music of Bard College can offer free tickets to many of our diverse and innovative performance offerings. See the full list of participating “Card to Culture” organizations offering EBT, WIC, and ConnectorCare discounts.