Competition Winners

Concerto Competition

The Longy Conservatory Orchestra holds an annual Concerto Competition in the spring semester. The competition is open to all Longy students, including both instrumentalists and vocal or opera students. Concerto competition winners will perform with the LCO during the following academic year.

Recent Winners

Laura McHugh
Jonathan Shin, Lindsay and Garth Greimann Scholar

Bohdan Shevchenko, Lindsay and Garth Greimann Longy Fund Scholar
Wanyu Zang

Milos Bjelica, clarinet
Mozart: Clarinet concerto in A major, K. 622
Jonathan Shin, piano
Beethoven: “Emperor” Concerto No. 5 in E flat, Op. 73

You Kyung Kim, cello
Elgar: Cello concerto Op. 85

Juan Diego Ardila Blandón, clarinet

Egor Antonenko, cello
Dvořák: Concerto for cello and orchestra in B minor
Thomas J. Wible, flute
Griffes: Poem

Iván Valbuena Paez, clarinet
Copland: Concerto for clarinet and orchestra
Vince Nico A. Ocampo, bassoon
Rossini: Concerto for bassoon and orchestra

Honors Competition

The Honors Competition gives students the opportunity to showcase their work on solo and chamber music. Winners have performed a wide variety of works, including pieces from the standard repertoire, early music, jazz, and new music by Longy composers. Entrants are nominated by a faculty member, and the winners are featured in the Honors Concert, held at the end of the year in Pickman Hall.

Recent Winners

Becca Bly
Zachary Cover
Ciera Cope
Scott Koljonen, Donald and Nehamah Quimby Scholar
Sadie Gustafson-Zook
Chang Cecilia Liu
Laura McHugh
Bingchuan Wan

Tucker Antell, Amy and Joshua Boger Longy Fund Scholar; Presidential Scholar
Zachary Cover
Jose Soto Gamboa
Anthony Leva
Laura McHugh
Deborah Palmer, Joseph L. Horner Endowed Scholar
Madeline Ross, Nancy Peery Marriott Scholar
Jiayao Shen
Sin-You Shia
Ge Song

Kalden Alexander
Milos Bjelica
Juan Camilo Gonzalez
Yini Hao
Josephina Kim
Paulius Pancekauskas
Liubomyr Senyshyn

Danilo Bonina
Yijuan Geng
Christopher Grills
Chenshayang Huang
You Kyung Kim
Chang Liu
Hannah Meloy
Ketti Muschler
John Ott
Rebecca Phillips

Egor Antonenko
Diana Borshcheva
Yi-Li Chang
Stacey Chou
Cornelius James David
Michael Gold
Mio Hatanaka
Maria Mandico
Sirgourney Tanner

Kaleigh Acord
Yoon Chung
Mari Juntunen
Mina Kim
Miri Kudo
Emily Lane
Chang Liu
Luz Elena Sarmiento Lozada
Vince Nico A. Ocampo
Iván Javier Valbuena Páez
Rebecca Phillips
Di Wu

Alyssa Marie Koogler
Elizabeth Ann Chladil
Paul K. Sayed
Matthew R. Fontana
Yo Shionoya
Eriko Takagaki
Kyle Johnson
Valerie L. Osborn

Longy Conservatory Orchestra Composition Competition

The Longy Conservatory Orchestra Composition Competition encourages composition students to write a work for the demanding medium of a large orchestra. Selected by the music director of the LCO and composition faculty, winning works are performed by the LCO in one of their regular season concerts. In addition to the competition, all students receive the opportunity to have their work read by the LCO in a series of workshop sessions devoted to new music for orchestra.

Recent Winners

Hsiu-Ping (Patrick) Wu

Margaret Boswell

Julia Galgon

Jonathan Shin: Héloïse and Abelard
Tianyi Wang: Under The Dome

Xue Han

Laura Marie Staffaroni: Anxiety

Melika M. Fitzhugh: Clever Sinks

Pappalardo Composition Competition

Created by Radius Ensemble, Longy’s Ensemble-in-residence, and made possible by Jane and Neil Pappalardo, the Pappalardo Composition Competition gives students the opportunity to have a chamber work premiered by professional musicians at the top of their field. Four finalists are selected by Longy’s composition faculty and each receive a reading and recording session with Radius. The ensemble then selects a winner, whose work is premiered on a Radius subscription series concert in Pickman Hall.

Recent Winners

Aaron Clarke

Stephany Svorinic

Sharad Gurung

Max Kliegle, Chatter for oboe, bassoon, violin, viola and piano

Larry Rubin, It’s So Wonderful for quartet for flute and strings

Jordan Chase, Quintalogue for woodwind quintet

Xue Han, Portrait of Dew for piano trio

Jared Hettrick, Disputatio Magna for horn, cello and piano

Daniela Dematos, Woodwind Trio No. 2