Master of Music in Music Education (MM/ME)

Master of Music in Music Education (MM/ME) in Cambridge MA

Longy’s Master of Music in Music Education program was built for experienced performers like you who want a powerful graduate studies program rooted in socially engaged and culturally responsive music education for the classroom. Graduate with your Master’s in just one year, plus we’ll prepare you for initial teaching licensure in Massachusetts public schools! This program will broaden your skillset and possibly help you secure a stable job in the public schools. The program is open to inspired artists from all musical backgrounds—classical, pop, world, folk, jazz, instrumental, vocal, conducting, and more.

The MM/ME curriculum explores the pedagogy foundational to the El Sistema teaching programs that are changing the lives of children in underserved communities through intensive music instruction. You’ll gain immediate experience, working with underserved youth in Greater Boston-area public schools and El Sistema-inspired sites. Plus, you’ll have full access to the resources of Longy’s conservatory campus, including studio lessons, ensembles, and performance opportunities in a musically rich, supportive environment.

Level: Graduate

Normal Program Length and Credits: 1 year, 40 credit hours required for graduation.

Admissions Requirements
  • Bachelor’s degree, post-secondary conservatory diploma, or demonstrated equivalent credential required
  • Academic and performance record demonstrating the capacity to excel in full-time studies
  • Applicants in performance must present an audition
Curriculum

Summer
Historical Foundations in Music Education
Initial Licensure
Conducting I
Creating Music in the Music Classroom
Learning by Design: Music Curriculum and Assessment

Fall
Choral Methods and Repertoire
Conducting II
Ensemble Arranging
Brass and Woodwinds Methods
Keyboarding Skills
Pre-Practicum (with local pre-K-12 school internship placements)

Winter
Technology in Music Education
Culturally Responsive Music Education: Teaching for Social Justice
Strings Methods
Percussion Methods

Spring
Creative Approaches to Music Education
Adaptive Music Methods
Student Teaching Seminar
Student Teaching (full-semester pre-K internships)

MM/ME Academic Calendar

Master of Music in Music Education

SUMMER SESSION (3 weeks)
Monday, August 3, 2020 First Day of Summer Session
Sunday, August 23, 2020 Last Day of Summer Session
FALL SEMESTER (15 weeks)
Monday, August 24 First Day of Fall Session
Monday, November 23 – Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Break. No in-person classes after this point.
Sunday, December 13 Last Day of Fall Session
Monday, December 14 – Sunday, January 3 Winter Break
WINTER SESSION (2 weeks)
Monday, January 4 First Day of Winter Session
Friday, January 15 Last Day of Winter Session
SPRING SEMESTER (15 weeks)
Monday, January 18 MLK Day, no classes
Tuesday, January 19 First Day of Spring Semester
Monday, February 15 – Friday, February 19 Public School Vacation Week- No Practicums (Cambridge campus still in session)
Tuesday, March 16–Monday, March 22 Spring Break (MM/ME candidates continue their practicum assignments)
Monday, April 19 – Friday, April 23 Public School Vacation Week- No Practicums
(Cambridge campus still in session)
Friday, May 14 Last Day of Spring Session