Master of Music in Music Education (MM/ME)

Master of Music in Music Education (MM/ME) in Cambridge MA

The new Master of Music in Music Education (MM/ME) program will launch on Longy’s main campus in 2020. Unlike traditional Music Ed. programs, the MM/ME is just one year and includes preparation leading to Pre-K-12 Music Teaching Licensure for Massachusetts public schools in addition to a graduate degree.

The MM/ME builds on the first,  one-year accredited degree program  in the U.S., our Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program in Los Angeles, CA. Both are inspired by  El Sistema, the Venezuelan program that is changing the lives of children in underserved communities through intensive music instruction.

MM/ME candidates will gain immediate experience, working with at-risk and underserved youth in Greater Boston-area public schools and numerous El Sistema-inspired sites across the state. They will also have access to the full resources of the conservatory campus, with studio lessons, performance, ensemble, and composition opportunities, in a music scene rich in both tradition and experimentation.

Level: Graduate

Normal Program Length and Credits: 1 year, 40 credit hours required for graduation.

Admissions Requirements
  • Bachelor’s degree, post-secondary conservatory diploma, or demonstrated equivalent credential required
  • Academic and performance record demonstrating the capacity to excel in full-time studies
  • Applicants in performance must present an audition
MM/ME Academic Calendar

Master of Music in Music Education

SUMMER SESSION (3 weeks)
Monday, August 3, 2020 First Day of Summer Session
Sunday, August 23, 2020 Last Day of Summer Session
FALL SEMESTER (15 weeks)
Monday, August 24 First Day of Fall Session
Monday, November 23 – Sunday, November 29 Thanksgiving Break. No in-person classes after this point.
Sunday, December 13 Last Day of Fall Session
Monday, December 14 – Sunday, January 3 Winter Break
WINTER SESSION (2 weeks)
Monday, January 4 First Day of Winter Session
Friday, January 15 Last Day of Winter Session
SPRING SEMESTER (15 weeks)
Monday, January 18 MLK Day, no classes
Tuesday, January 19 First Day of Spring Semester
Monday, February 15 – Friday, February 19 Public School Vacation Week- No Practicums (Cambridge campus still in session)
Tuesday, March 16–Monday, March 22 Spring Break (MM/ME candidates continue their practicum assignments)
Monday, April 19 – Friday, April 23 Public School Vacation Week- No Practicums
(Cambridge campus still in session)
Friday, May 14 Last Day of Spring Session