11.28.17 Full Cycle: Beethoven's Complete Works for Cello and Piano, Part I

Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall, 7:30 pm


Rarely heard as a unit, Longy faculty members Aristides Rivas and Spencer Myer will perform Beethoven's complete works for Cello and Piano: the five Sonatas and the three sets of Variations, encompassing the composer's entire compositional trajectory.

Twelve Variations on a Theme from Handel’s Oratorio Judas Maccabaeus, WoO 45

Sonata in F major, Op. 5 No. 1
Adagio sostenuto – Allegro 
Rondo: Allegro vivace 


Twelve Variations on the Theme Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen from Mozart’s Opera The Magic Flute, Op. 66 

Sonata in A major, Op. 69
Allegro ma non tanto
Scherzo: Allegro molto
Adagio cantabile – Allegro vivace

Admission is free, but tickets are required.